skip to Main Content

Wooley, a University Distinguished Professor and holder of the W.T. Doherty-Welch Chair in Chemistry, is Texas A&M’s second recipient of the SEC’s highest faculty honor.

By Shana Hutchins, College of Science

Texas A&M University Distinguished Professor of Chemistry Karen L. Wooley has been named the 2021 SEC Professor of the Year, SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Monday.

Wooley, a member of the National Academy of Sciences and holder of the W.T. Doherty-Welch Chair in Chemistry in the College of Science, is one of the world’s foremost experts in materials and polymer chemistry and in creating new materials at the nanoscale level. She is the second Texas A&M recipient of the prestigious honor, the highest given to professors by the SEC, joining fellow Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and National Academy of Sciences member Marcetta Y. Darensbourg, who was named Texas A&M’s inaugural honoree in 2018.

woman with gloves holding beaker with uv light
Back To Top